## **Baxter Academy for Technology and Science**

#### **Board of Directors Meeting**

Tuesday, January 17, 2023, at Baxter Academy and via Zoom

Present: Thorn Dickinson (chair), Ruth Dean (vice chair), Nik Charov (treasurer), Tristan Oldmixon (secretary), Jana Lapoint

Absent: Simon McGurk

Staff: Executive Director Anna Klein-Christie, Head of School Cicy Po, Director of Special Education Laura Parks, CFO Kerry Bush, IT Director Amos Cooper

## Agenda item

#### I. General items

Chair Thorn Dickinson called the meeting to order at 6:05pm, in-person and online via Zoom.

A. Approval of minutes

Chair Thorn Dickinson reviewed the minutes of the December Board meeting. Chair Thorn Dickinson motioned that the draft minutes from the December 20, 2022, board meeting be approved as presented. Treasurer Nik Charov seconded, the roll call was:

Thorn Dickinson Yes
Ruth Dean Yes
Nik Charov Yes
Jana Lapoint Yes
Tristin Oldmixon Yes

# II. Finance updates

Treasurer Nik Charov presented financials for the year to date through December and a new forecast for the full fiscal year. Through December, BA is running a \$2k surplus. The forecast for the full fiscal year is a shortfall of \$38k.

Treasurer Nik Charov motioned to approve the second quarter of SY23 financial report, Ruth Dean seconded, the roll call was:

•	Thorn Dickinson	Yes
•	Ruth Dean	Yes
•	Nik Charov	Yes
•	Jana Lapoint	Yes
•	Tristin Oldmixon	Yes

## III. School updates

Executive Director Anna Klein-Christie presented an update which included:

- Charter Commision performance framework
- · Recruitment update including enrollment and diversity
- Fundraising update
- Security review
- New robots in the CAD and fabrication labs

Head of School Cicy Po presented an update which included:

- Events planned for Seniors
- Peace Summit
- Baxter Without Walls
- Flex Friday

### IV. Election of New Board Member

Chair Thorn Dickinson motioned that Daniel Mickool be elected to the board. Jana Lapoint seconded, the roll call was:

•	Thorn Dickinson	Yes
•	Ruth Dean	Yes
•	Nik Charov	Yes
•	Jana Lapoint	Yes
•	Simon McGurk	Yes
•	Tristin Oldmixon	Yes

## V. Public Comment

Public comment was opened at 7:05pm.

### **VI. Executive Session**

Thorn Dickinson motioned to enter Executive Session at 7:21pm to consult with legal counsel pursuant to footnote with the appropriate chapter/verse: MRS Title 1, Section 405(6)(e) or other https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/1/title1sec405.html. Nik seconded, the roll call was:

•	Thorn Dickinson	Yes
•	Ruth Dean	Yes
•	Nik Charov	Yes
•	Jana Lapoint	Yes
•	Simon McGurk	Yes
•	Tristin Oldmixon	Yes

The board exited Executive Session at 8:30pm.

Thorn Dickinson motioned to adjourn the meeting at 8:35pm. Nik Charov seconded. Meeting adjourned.