Baxter Academy for Technology and Science

Board of Directors Meeting

Tuesday, December 20, 2022, at Baxter Academy and via Zoom

Present: Thorn Dickinson (chair), Ruth Dean (vice chair), Nik Charov (secretary), Jana Lapoint, Simon McGurk

Absent: Tristan Oldmixon

Staff: Executive Director Anna Klein-Christie, Head of School Cicy Po, Director of Special Education Laura Parks, CFO Kerry Bush, IT Director Amos Cooper, Compliance Coordinator Tyler Beaulieu, Operations Director Michael Thorp, Outreach Coordinator Jonathan Delorme

Agenda item

I. General items

Chair Thorn Dickinson called the meeting to order at 6:03pm, in-person and online via Zoom.

A. Approval of minutes

Secretary Nik Charov motioned that the draft minutes from the November 22, 2022, board meeting be approved as presented. Ruth Dean seconded, the roll call was:

Thorn Dickinson recused due to previous absence

Ruth Dean YesNik Charov YesJana Lapoint Yes

• Simon McGurk recused due to previous absence

Tristin Oldmixon absent

II. Election of Officers

Chair Thorn Dickinson motioned that Tristan Oldmixon be elected secretary and that Nik Charov be elected treasurer. Jana Lapoint seconded, the roll call was:

Thorn Dickinson Yes
Ruth Dean Yes
Nik Charov Yes
Jana Lapoint Yes

Simon McGurk YesTristin Oldmixon absent

III. Finance updates

Treasurer Nik Charov presented financials for the year to date through November and a new forecast for the full fiscal year. Through November, BA is running a \$71k surplus. The forecast for the full fiscal year is a shortfall of \$18k. No board action required on this financial presentation.

IV. School updates

Executive Director Anna Klein-Christie presented an update which included:

- Compliance
- Recruitment Strategies
- Academic & Administration Function/Curriculum
- Community Outreach
- Fundraising
- Finance
- Building/Staff Structure

V. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

VI. Executive Session

Thorn Dickinson motioned to enter into Executive Session at 7:50pm to discuss confidential personnel matters pursuant to Title 1 Section 405(6)(a) of the Maine Revised Statutes. Nik Charov seconded, the roll call was:

Thorn Dickinson Yes
Ruth Dean Yes
Nik Charov Yes
Jana Lapoint Yes
Simon McGurk Yes
Tristin Oldmixon absent

The board exited Executive Session at 9:02pm.

^{*}For full Executive Director's Report, please visit: Link to Executive Director's Report

Thorn Dickinson motioned to adjourn the meeting at 9:03pm. Nik Charov seconded. Meeting adjourned.

Next regular meeting: January 17, 2023